Skip to content

250 Blogs Not Out!

March 12, 2012

250 Blogs Not Out!

This is the 250th blog for Over The Hills!

Firstly, can I thank everyone who has read and supported the blog over the past 18 months. I have appreciated knowing it is actually being read, and have found all of your comments so very interesting. Thanks too to the Ramblers and the Open Spaces Society for supporting and publicising the blog.

JB trespassing on the Hensroost Mine Track

I was determined from the start that the blog should be about campaigning as well as featuring walks. Our countryside, and indeed our right to roam freely through it, is under threat in a way I couldn’t have imagined in 2010.

We can no longer take anything for granted where our countryside is concerned. It has become another disposable asset in pound shop Britain – just look at the forests and the Quantock Hills.

Over the next few years we may see much of our precious conservation legislation scrapped, our very right to walk and ride across our land threatened, planners and developers given a free hand to wreck those lovely places walkers hold most dear.

If there is one thing we should urge, it is that every walker, every rambler, every rider, everyone who loves our wild open spaces should become a campaigner – even if you just lobby an MP or write a letter to your local newspaper. If you want to do more, then do join the Ramblers, the Open Spaces Society, a national park society or a local conservation society. Just adding your name to the membership lists helps. If you can do more than that as a volunteer so much the better.

It is no good mourning for our countryside and the right to explore it when it is lost. Fight back now, for yourself and for future generations. Regards, John B.

For further thoughts do visit my website www.johnbainbridgewriter.com

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2012 2:14 pm

    Congrats on your 250 blogs. John, I came across your blog just as I was starting my own here. Know that I joined Ramblers as a result of your blog. (When I’m more settled, I might even join them for a walk)! I do a Mystery Walk. And I do follow through with most of the campaigns you publish. My MP has a blog on WordPress too and I make comments whenever I ‘feel the urge!’ (Not just on walking issues). That’s all because of your blog. I don’t always comment but that doesn’t mean I don’t read your posts. Also, you’re a damned good writer and so it’s always a pleasure when your posts drop in my email box!

    Ann

  2. March 12, 2012 3:14 pm

    Thank you for your good wishes – very much appreciated!

  3. March 13, 2012 7:47 am

    Wow! 250 posts. I have just reached 40 so I have a way to go. Keep up the good work. John.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 278 other followers

