Skip to content

A Keswick to Penrith Road Ghost

August 27, 2012

A Keswick to Penrith Road Ghost

Returning from the theatre in Keswick two Sundays ago, we saw a ghost crossing the road.

Yes, I know ghost is quite a loaded word, but I can’t think how else to describe what we saw.

It was dark. It had rained earlier, but the mist had lifted. It was about ten o’clock at night.

About a third of the way out of Keswick, heading towards Penrith, we were on a straight, slightly descending patch of road. I dipped my lights to spare a car coming in the opposite direction.

When the other car was about two hundred yards away I saw him slow suddenly as a figure stepped out in front of him from the verge on the southern side of the road. I touched my own brakes.

A tall dark figure was crossing the road, south to north. I got the impression of a very tall dark man, all in black in fact, wearing either a long coat or a cloak. He had some sort of hat. The face was turned in our direction, white but with no distinct features.

At first I thought it was some idiot crossing the road without due care and attention.

Then I realised that the figure was not actually walking on the road. He was flowing a couple of feet above it. I braked a bit more.

Just as the figure approached the northern verge he faded away and was soon completely gone.

Anne, riding in the front passenger seat asked me if I had seen the thing crossing the road. I was glad of the confirmation of someone else. And clearly, judging by his sudden braking, the driver of the other car had seen something as well.

For a few seconds, Anne had thought it was some idiot crossing the road and thought he was in danger of being run over. Then she realised that it was not human, but something on a timescale different to ours. He looked almost solid at first, she said, but grew more transparent as he crossed the road.

If anyone has a logical explanation, I would be keen to hear it.

Now I have driven a lot at night. Done a lot of night walking too. I’ve seen every type of animal in front of me in the dark. This wasn’t. This was a human figure.

If anyone has an explanation I would be fascinated to hear it.

Patricia Routledge: We had been to the Theatre by the Lake to see the incomparable Patricia Routledge talking about her earlier career in musical theatre in London and Broadway. What a star! More talent in one knuckle of her little finger than the celeb pop stars of today. If her tour comes near you, I commend it to you.

As far as I can work it out, the map reference is NY 373 273, but will review that when I travel the road again.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 4:21 pm

    I’ve seen quite a few ghosts outdoors in Benbecula and South Uist and sometimes in hotels in the Lakes so I think they’re quite prevalent. Lucky you for seeing one though – especially when you have someone else to back you up!
    Carol.

  2. August 27, 2012 5:13 pm

    You’ve met an archetype, and are in very good company of numbers of sincere people who have met such figures on our night roads since time immemorial. More on the website below.

  3. August 28, 2012 7:03 am

    The websit above is, I think, http://www.roadghosts.com

    • August 28, 2012 10:21 am

      The web address is correct – I didn’t realise the link wouldn’t show. Thanks John.

  4. August 29, 2012 6:47 am

    Hope to try and put a map refrence for this sighting on in a day or two,

  5. August 29, 2012 6:16 pm

    That’ll be great. Thanks.

  6. September 4, 2012 7:25 am

    As far as I can work it out, the map reference is NY 373 273, but will review that when I travel the road again.

  7. October 18, 2012 9:11 pm

    Thanks John.

Leave a Reply

