Skip to content

Save the bus pass

January 20, 2013

Firstly, can I say that I am not yet old enough to qualify for a bus pass – and I suspect that by the time I am the government will have abolished passes altogether.

The cut backs towards this wonderful reward for older people are already on the way.

But these cutbacks will devastate bus services, particularly in rural areas. Pensioners make up the majority of passengers in rural areas.

Take away the subsidies that bus companies get – and the bus pass money is a subsidy – and they will shut down these vital bus routes for everyone.

There is nobody as shortsighted as a ConDem MP apparently.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2013 1:30 pm

    Penny wise, yet pound foolish if they do illuminate public transport service!

    • January 20, 2013 2:52 pm

      That should read eliminate, NOT illuminate! I don’t like certain features on the IPad as it automatically changes the sense of words! Mea culpa!

  2. January 23, 2013 10:07 pm

    I’m sure you’re right – each time I’m coming up to anything, they abolish it the year before! They’ve so far done away with: me not having to tax my classic car (as it’s after 1973 by 2 years), a sensible retirement age of 60, then 62 etc., my Army pension as I left before 1980 (the year before) and so on 😦

  3. January 24, 2013 8:07 am

    Interesting that the gold-plated pensions enjoyed by MPs always increase massively ahead of inflation.

Leave a Reply

