Skip to content

Update

March 23, 2013

Not the best of weeks!

Got the poor old car written off in a collision with a lorry in Selkirk, and have spent several days clobbered with gastro-enteritis!

Lets hope next week is better!!!

However, did a magnificent snow walk last Sunday along the first half of the John Buchan Way, which I’ll tell you all about this coming week.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2013 9:26 am

    I hope you get to walk it all away John!!

  2. Sean Brogan permalink
    March 23, 2013 10:39 am

    Sorry to hear about your troubles John. I have just a question – there are moves about here to build more houses above the Lovell estate in Green fields – as you know there is very little brown sites in Teignmouth and the ‘demand’ for new housing is very strong. The proposal with no new infrastructure is for 200 houses – no doubt most will be unaffordable to local young people and what ‘social’ housing there is will be small and out of the way. I have problems over the idea of building in the countryside and would prefer sustainable houses built with natural materials – rammed brick and straw bales and low energy costs. Teignbridge has no ‘plan’ as of yet and I reckon that the developers will get their way. What do you think given these contradictions? Sean

    I have also decided to stand as a TUSC candidate in forthcoming Devon Elections for Teignmouth Town – http://www.tusc – Younger – Ross is trying to make a comeback – my motives – not ego but against cuts!

    • March 23, 2013 6:56 pm

      Good luck with the elections. Concerned about the Lovell fields. I had a friend who lived there and she was always getting a lot of the fields washed down into her garden. I think one problem is the speculative nature of these big builders – all about profits rather than providing homes. I would be interested to know the justification for building anything but social and first-time buyer homes? Are they likely to end up as holiday homes? It does seem that Teignbridge is heading towards urban sprawl. And how many empty properties are there in Teignbridge, how many houses that people can’t sell?

  3. March 23, 2013 4:14 pm

    Sorry about the car write-off and hope you recover faster than mrs windsor.

    • March 23, 2013 6:45 pm

      Very many thanks. Feeling a bit better today

      John B.

      ________________________________

  4. March 24, 2013 1:35 am

    Sorry to hear about the car John – I’d have been devastated – to me, my cars are people and I’d have cried my eyes out. But whatever happened in the collision, it must have been terrifying for you!

    Also sorry to hear about the gastro-enteritis – one of my least favourite things. I always seem to get things like that when it turns nastily cold! Hope you feel better soon,
    Carol.

Leave a Reply

