Skip to content

Walking from Morland to Cliburn

February 18, 2014

While many walkers are familiar with the Lake country west of Penrith, fewer walk the quiet countryside in the other direction.Cliburn and Morland Walk 001

Sunday, a brighter day after weeks of rain, saw us set out from Morland for a short ramble to Cliburn and back.Cliburn and Morland Walk 003

Morland is a most picturesque village, with a part Saxon church. The pretty Morland Beck runs through the heart of the community.  On the first part of our journey we passed a huge stone obelisk bearing the single word “Powdonnet” – marking the location of an ancient spring. On then across wild pastures to Dowgill and Cliburn Bridge, the parish boundary between the two villages as the 1847 plaque Cliburn and Morland Walk 005illustrates.

After exploring Cliburn, we returned to the bridge, passing on the way Cliburn Hall, once a medieval defensive tower but now a farm. Then across the fields to the farm of Akeygate, before descending into Glenton Vale and following the very attractive course of the Morland Beck, full of water after the downfall and running through a most attractive valley, back to Morland.Cliburn and Morland Walk 006

A lovely short ramble. You can park opposite the Crown Inn in Morland, but get there early before all the spaces are taken. There are refreshments at the Crown Inn and the nearby Old Mill Cafe.  Start point Grid reference is NY 599224.Cliburn and Morland Walk 009Cliburn and Morland Walk 010

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2014 12:18 am

    The river doesn’t look too high considering the weather there’s been recently 🙂 I got out on our moors for the first time in ages on Sunday – it was quite a nice day for a change wasn’t it?
    Carol.

  2. February 1, 2017 8:27 pm

    Hi, thanks for the nice pictures of the walk. My English ancestors spring from Cliburn and Morland. A mystery I need to solve is which Dowgill? There is the one that’s right next to Morland that you walked through, and there are 3 in North Stainmoor – West Dowgill, Low Dowgill, and Dowgill Head. I believe my ancestors are the one you walked to Morland past but there is one thing that bothers me – I don’t know if the word Head is ever used after THAT Dowgill. The transcriptions of my ancestor’s birth records have more than one word – words like Dougill, Dowgill, Dougillhead, DewgallHead, etc.. I DO see the word Head used. So I was wondering, have you even heard of Dowgill Head (but the one near Morland). I know this is agonizing but I just want to say exactly where in Cumbria (Westmoreland) my ancestors are from. I have two missing birth records – that of William Coulston (b. 1662 – 1677, Dowgill, Cliburn, Morland, …) and his first daughter with Elizabeth Bushby (b. 1670, Leicestershire). They married in 1688 right there in Morland, where at least 3 of 4 of their children were born:
    “Nov. 8 William COULSTON & Elizabeth BUSHBY”

    http://www.cumberlandarchives.co.uk/content/view/205/27/

    Here is my family tree – the branch in question is the one with Edward D. Coulston.

    http://www.familytreenow.com/trees/13713
    http://www.familytreenow.com/trees/13713/person/114106 – The branch with William Coulston in case you want to go directly to him. Then click View Profile or browse to look at his children.

    So, anyway, William came to the states after his first wife died in 1698. William then settled in Gwynedd, PA/Plymouth Meeting, PA (Whitpain), 5 miles from my hometown of Oreland, PA. He was active in the Quaker church community, and eventually, one of his descendants, Elizabeth Coulston, married David Rittenhouse, the famous astronomer and statesman. William eventually married Anne Foulke, and later, Mary Davies. So three times in all. It’s just driving me nuts since I lack a transcript of those two birth records. There are lots of parish registers online, but I just want to know why everyone, says that William was born in Yorkshire (of course, it’s close to Stainmoor), but I just don’t think he was. I need to prove it one way or another.

    Thanks again for the pics – sorry, if I got long-winded. I wonder, does Head mean farm, hillock, dwelling, place, or what? Curious about that too.

    If you want to take a good walk near Philly, it’s Andorra Natural Area – you can walk all the way to the Philadelphia Art Museum, and even eat along the way. The poet Edgar Allen Poe used to walk there. It’s nicknamed “Valley Green”.
    Thanks again,
    Joel
    jdb_one@yahoo.com

    • February 2, 2017 3:54 pm

      Hi Joel
      Thank you for sharing this. It’s fascinating, particularly as we are enthusiasts for family history too.
      Firstly, the word Head can be used for so many features in the English landscape and often gains a mention on the map. As it could be the head of a river, or valley or even the end of the parish, it’s hard to pin your example down.

      Cliburn/Morland are now very firmly in Cumbria, but Cumbria only comes with the amalgamation of three older counties in the 1970s. Before that the villages seem to have always been in the old county of Westmorland. I can’t imagine that they were ever in Yorkshire.

      Dowgill is a common, if not very common name, in the northern landscape, the gill coming from waterfall, though there isn’t one there. There is definitely a hamlet of that name on Stainmore, just south of the A66 road east of Brough. But that’s a long way from Morland/Cliburn.

      But looking at the 1:25000 Ordnance Survey (The English Lakes North-Eastern Area Number OL5) map of the area, there is a building almost halfway between Morland and Cliburn called Dowgill (the map reference is NY592237). Looking at an online estate map for the Crossriggs country estate, their estate land surrounds this building, though it’s not coloured in as theirs, so they probably sold the plot some time ago. This Dowgill is just to the east of a public footpath.
      Now I have to say I don’t know the building. It may in itself be modern, but I wouldn’t think the name would be. And interestingly, just across the fields to the south-east is a set of buildings called Eddy House.
      Eddy is an unusual name in the English landscape. I did wonder if it is a corruption of Head?

      If it was my own family history I would assume that the Dowgill is the one between Cliburn and Morland.
      Hope this might be of help.

  3. February 3, 2017 1:53 am

    Hi Gaslight Crime, some intriguing research you’ve presented! I might agree, just let it be Cliburn (Dowgill) for now. Why involve Stainmoor, which is 17.5 miles from Morland? I have not yet broken the piggy bank enough to get nice maps, but I found a site called http://www.geograph.org.uk/ where I can enter NY592237, but so far, it only brings up images for 5923. There are a couple that show a building.

    1.
    Approaching Dowgill
    by John Darch

    2.
    Footpath at Dowgill
    by Karl and Ali
    Our guidebook (published in 1996) describes Dowgill as a barn. It is now converted into a dwelling.

    Could it be the one with the word Dowgill? I can’t see the building up close in their pictures. I might need to get some guy on a tv program to make a half hour show and sneak into the basement of that dwelling. It’s had a number of owners, but maybe one of them has an old artifact from the late 1600’s. I guess they’ve washed the place down by now though. It’s a nice looking place. I remember riding the train through England in 1995, while doing some work there, and I always enjoyed the scenic view of a repeating pattern of pigs, horses, sheep, and cows. The animals look like they have a good life out there. If only I had my mother’s notes on her trip to England and Scotland. I don’t have them. Her estate was sold while I was unaware of it and I don’t know if I could find them. So I guess I need to find someone to visit that building, or else, I might have an excuse for a trip to England, and drive on the left.
    Thanks, Joel

    • February 4, 2017 11:19 am

      hi Joel, I think even if the building is modern the name is old, so there could have been an older building on the site. We’ll try and get a picture the next time we’re in the area. Later this weekend there’ll be a walk not so far away on my new blog which is http://www.thefreedomtoroam.com regards John B.

  4. February 4, 2017 1:44 pm

    Hi John, yes, and it’s possible it’s barely still there. It’s great to know someone is going near the site and could visit. I have a friend – but they will visit Birrmingham – I’m not sure they will have time to travel to Cumbria. Enjoy the outing! Joel

Leave a Reply

