Skip to content

Ramblers Association Challenged as Snettisham Walkers Strike Back

May 5, 2014

How pleasing to see so many people out on the Snettisham protest walk yesterday.

When this first blew up I asked the Ramblers Association to support them. I was told from RA head office that nobody but a handful of agitators cared about the path.

In flat they refused to help.

I hope the RA mandarins take a look at the pictures from yesterday’s protest and eat their words!

It is thrilling to remember the 1932 Kinder Scout Trespass.

I do too.

I have written a whole book about it (The Compleat Trespasser).

But the RA shouldn’t be the walking equivalent of the Sealed Knot. We want access action now, not just re-enactments of historically distant events.

There is still time for the RA to get its act together and show a real presence at next month’s public inquiry.

Or do we have to form a rival RA to campaign properly for the Right to Roam?

Snettisham campaigner Lilian Richardson reports on yesterday’s walk:

“Well what an amazing turnout today.  Around 1,000 people came today to show their support for this ancient popular footpath at Snettisham Beach.  People from older generations to the young came along with their dogs.  The walk went extremely well, great atmosphere, gentle pace all very pleasant and peaceful.  We are very pleased and surprised with the amount of people who came to support.  With the public inquiry in about 5 weeks time when an inspector will decide if to make this footpath a PROW.
The objectors had been trying hard to get this walk stopped by the Police.  The Police who have been monitoring Facebook, were convinced that the Ramblers were behind the walk! (if only)”

Indeed, Lilian, if only…

 

 

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. richardsonlilian permalink
    May 5, 2014 12:20 pm

    This footpath is important to so many as can be seen by the amazing turnout yesterday. I thank everyone for coming along.

  2. richardsonlilian permalink
    May 5, 2014 4:13 pm

    When this first blew up I asked the Ramblers Association to support them. I was told from RA head office that nobody but a handful of agitators cared about the path.

    In flat they refused to help.

    RA you got it wrong! Who told you nobody but a handful of agitators cared???

  3. May 8, 2014 7:38 pm

    I asked the Ramblers about this on Twitter this morning, they posted a response on their Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/ramblers/posts/10152855744363327

  4. May 9, 2014 6:06 am

    Yes I saw their response. But when this first blew up they tried to get me not to support the people fighting for the path on the grounds that they had looked into it and the path campaigners were just “four of five agitators with no local support”. It pains me to criticise the RA having been a member and activist for over 40 years, but I think they have lost a lot of support in Norfolk because of this.

  5. richardsonlilian permalink
    May 9, 2014 8:23 pm

    Reading the above comments on The Ramblers it makes me very cross, I have worked continually for 4 years trying to get the Ramblers and others to listen to me about this very popular footpath in Snettisham and all the time they thought we were just trouble. So I suppose in their eye this footpath was not worth saving? or have they been told not to bother? I shall be very pleased when the public inquiry is over and I can go back to what was my ordinary life. I have been fighting for this footpath because I know we are correct. I thank John for his help and for believing in us shame others didn’t.

Leave a Reply

