Skip to content

Return to Wansfell Pike

February 19, 2015

Looking through old notebooks I see that I first climbed Wansfell Pike in October 1998.

Stockghyll Force (c) John Bainbridge 2015

Stockghyll Force (c) John Bainbridge 2015

Although it is such a modest fell I’ve always liked it for the views – the long sweep of Windermere, the western heights of the Kentmere Horseshoe, Red Screes and the vista over Ambleside.

I never mind returning to it.

Windermere from Wansfell Pike (c) John Bainbridge 2015

Windermere from Wansfell Pike (c) John Bainbridge 2015

So we walked up last Sunday from Ambleside, taking the old route via Stockghyll Force.

It was a much milder day than of late, though patches of snow still clung to the higher ground. There were quite a few other people around and there were good views through the haze and the stillest of air – hardly a breeze until we lost the shelter of the hillside.

We didn’t linger long on the top, but descended towards Troutbeck and a return down Hundreds Lane.

I’ve always liked the little waterfall near to the head of the lane. When I used to do this walk the other way round I often used to stop there for a cup of tea, dangling my feet in the water on a hot day.

The Skelghyll Track (c) John Bainbridge 2015

The Skelghyll Track (c) John Bainbridge 2015

From Hundreds Lane we took the old track to Skelghyll Wood and Jenkin Crag.

I hadn’t been to Jenkin Crag for several years. It was a place that the Wordsworth’s would have known well. And a favourite viewpoint for Victorian visitors. In recent years the view of Windermere has been obstructed by tree growth. But now that has been cleared and we can appreciate the view that previous generations would have known.

On Jenkin Crag (c) John Bainbridge 2015

On Jenkin Crag (c) John Bainbridge 2015

The Lake was placid in the still weather. Only the boats broke the surface leaving long wakes.

A peaceful world last Sunday.

And then suddenly how busy the world seemed as we wandered back into Ambleside.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2015 5:13 pm

    We’ve just come back from Grasmere & Bowness – I’ve never seen so many folk – I hate half-terms! I love Wansfell though and, like you, would walk up it any time. I think you got the last of the good weather – Monday was okay-ish too but Tue & Wed have been ‘orrid!

  2. hgczarapata permalink
    February 19, 2015 5:34 pm

    Wow I really like the picture of the water flow! Like you said, it is a small one, but definitely a beauty! How often do you get out and hike?

    • February 20, 2015 7:49 am

      Try to get out at least once a week, often more. cheers John

      • hgczarapata permalink
        February 20, 2015 7:51 am

        Yeah that’s about what I get. I’m trying to fit in another one each week. Hopefully!
        -Hunter

  3. February 19, 2015 5:50 pm

    It’s improved! We went up to Lily Tarn yesterday and after a bit of rain spotting it turned into a beautiful day. Very busy though most were going along the track to Loughrigg Tarn.

  4. February 19, 2015 6:20 pm

    Taking me back a long way today John – I think I first walked that route as a child in the mid-fifties with my Dad. Lovely memories. Thank you

  5. February 20, 2015 7:33 am

    And I doubt the walk has changed very much in that time which is good in England.

Leave a Reply

