Skip to content

John’s Novels

  John’s Novels…

The titles are published by Gaslight Crime. See the blog and an interview with John Bainbridge at This interview may be reproduced without charge. Please click on the attachment for cover illustrations.
LOXLEY – The Chronicles of Robin Hood
A hooded man has come to the forest.
Sherwood Forest.

Come to fight for the poor and desperate. Come to fight for freedom against the overlords imposing tyranny on those who can’t fight back.

Robin of Loxley has already been proclaimed an outlaw and rebel in Richard the Lionheart’s England.

Embittered after a failed rebellion, armed with a longbow and a sword, Robin faces his greatest challenge – defeating the despotic Sheriff of Nottingham, the deadly Sir Guy of Gisborne and the cruel Master of Newark Castle Sir Brian du Bois.

Proclaimed wolfshead in Sherwood, Robin of Loxley becomes Robin Hood.

Sherwood Forest his only refuge.

In the struggle against injustice Robin Hood fights alongside the other wolfsheads of Sherwood – Will Scarlet, Little John, Much and a renegade monk called Tuck. And a mysterious archer who kills tyrants in the greenwood.

Their deeds will become legendary.

Loxley – complete in itself – is the first in a four-part sequence The Chronicles of Robin Hood.

There is also an historical note by the author on the origins of the Robin Hood legend.

BALMORAL KILL by John Bainbridge
The autumn of 1937 – A desperate race against time to find a deadly killer…In 1936 the British royal family were rocked by their greatest scandal as Edward VIII gave up the throne in order to marry an American divorcee.
Many ordinary people regretted the loss of their popular king. In the dark corridors of power, not everyone was sorry…
A year later the Abdication Crisis seems forgotten and all eyes are on the Coronation that summer. In August the new King George VI will retreat to Balmoral, his remote holiday home in the Highlands of Scotland.
As the shadow of war falls across Europe, a sinister conspiracy lies deep within the British establishment.
A man lies dead in a woodland glade. An unfortunate accident or has the first shot been fired in a secret war?
Sean Miller is recalled home to take on his deadliest challenge – but where do his loyalties really lie?
In a frantic chase, from the slums and sinister alleys of London to the lonely glens of the Scottish Highlands, Miller must hunt and bring down his most dangerous opponent.
His mission – to foil the final shot that will plunge Europe into the abyss of a new Dark Age.

London 1853 – Where the grand houses of the wealthy lie a stone’s throw from the vilest slums and rookeries of the poor.
A mysterious stranger carrying a swordstick walks the gaslit alleys and night houses seeking vengeance.The-Shadow-Of-William-Quest
A man determined to fight for justice against all the wrongs of Victorian society.
Who is the secretive William Quest?
Following Quest’s trail from the teeming streets of London to the lonely coast of Norfolk, Inspector Anders of Scotland Yard is determined to uncover the truth.
Kindle and paperback editions now available
ISBN Number 9781496107619
And –
Devonshire 1873. The peaceful seaside town of Seaborough, half-forgotten on the eastern border of the county, seems an unlikely setting for a murder.
When a leading resident of the town dies, the cause of death is uncertain. Inspector Abbs and Sergeant Reeve are sent  to determine whether the elderly spinster was poisoned.
Behind the Nottingham lace curtains and over the bone china tea cups trouble has been brewing.
Seaborough is changing, new houses are going up and some prominent inhabitants are ambitious for the town to become a popular resort.
As one death leads to another, the detectives need to work fast to uncover the secrets beneath the surface of this respectable seaside town.
Kindle and paperback editions now available:
ISBN 9781496086129
A CHRISTMAS MALICEChristmas Malice Final CoverInspector Abbs is spending Christmas with his sister in a lonely village on the edge of the Norfolk Fens. He is hoping for a quiet week while he thinks over a decision about his future.However all is not well in Aylmer. Someone has been playing malicious tricks on the inhabitants. With time on his hands and concerned for his sister, Abbs feels compelled to investigate..This complete tale is a novella of around 33,000 words. The events take place one month after the conclusion of Inspector Abbs’s first case, A Seaside Mourning.
Click on the link to see more.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: